StartSmart@CF

Students Wearing StartSmart@CF T-Shirts

At CF, we are committed to your success. Through StartSmart@CF, you have all the resources and guidance you need to succeed in college.

As a first-time-in-college student you will:

  • Begin by exploring your strengths through career and interest surveys.
  • Be matched with a success specialist, who will advise you through your first year.
  • Collaborate to select an academic pathway with clear guidance on what courses to take and when to take them.
  • Benefit from free college resources such as tutoring.
  • Grow personally by making campus connections.
What can YOU do to StartSmart?

Start Informed

After you have completed orientation, you'll work with your StartSmart First-Year Success Specialist to explore your career interests, including taking a Career Coach survey. Then, you'll be able to choose the rightAcademic Pathway.

Start Early

Your First-Year Success Specialist is here to help you achieve your goals. Prior to your registration window, schedule an appointment with your First-Year Success Specialist to decide on the best courses and degree plan.

Start Connected

There's always something going on at the CF campuses! Join a club, attend arts and cultural events and athletic competitions, or be part of an intramural team or wellness class!

Visit Student Life

Start Supported

CF offers many free services to help you succeed now and in the future, including tutoring, career services, mental health screenings, counseling, and more.

View All Student Assistance Services

Meet Your First Year Success Specialists

We're here to guide and advise you on academic pathways, career options, and more. Our goal is to see you succeed, so let's talk! Call or email to set up an appointment.

Jessyca Thibault

Jessyca Thibault

Ocala Campus First-Year Students A-Di

Email: thibaulj@cf.edu

Call: Ext. 1306

Joshua Paugh

Joshua Paugh

Ocala Campus First-Year Students Rj-Z

Email: paughj@cf.edu

Call: Ext. 1431

Roger "RJ" Prigge Jr.

Roger "RJ" Prigge Jr. 

Ocala Campus First-Year Students Dj-Ko

Email: roger.prigge@cf.edu

Call: Ext. 1443

Chris Ray

Chris Ray

Citrus First-Year Students

Email: rayc@cf.edu

Call: Ext. 6125

Photo of Susan Thomas

Susan Thomas

Ocala Campus First-Year Students Kp-Ri

Email: thomassu@cf.edu

Ext: 1793

Krystle Skelly

Krystle Skelly

Levy First-Year Students

Email: skellyk@cf.edu

Call: Ext. 2105

...And Your StartSmart Fellows

StartSmart Fellows are there to help you learn more about specific academic programs and campus resources. If you're interested in learning more about a degree or career field, they're the experts!

Nancy Abshier PhotoNancy Abshier

Associate Professor, Office Administration

Email: abshiern@cf.edu

Call: Ext. 1387

Keith Bracey PhotoKeith Bracey

Coordinator, Educational Opportunities

Email: braceyk@cf.edu

Call: Ext. 1369

Andrew Jenkins PhotoAndrew Jenkins

Associate Professor, Communications

Email: jenkinsa@cf.edu

Call: Ext. 1357

Richard Kirk PhotoRichard Kirk

Professor, Humanities and Social Sciences

Email: kirkr@cf.edu

Call: Ext. 1315

Liz Minnerly PhotoLiz Minnerly

Professor, Librarian

Email: minnerll@cf.edu

Call: Ext. 1744

Amy Osborne PhotoAmy Osborn

Faculty, Business and Technology

Email: osbornea@cf.edu

Call: Ext. 1425

Kathy Robbins PhotoKathy Robbins

Assistant Professor, Early Childhood Education

Email: robbinsk@cf.edu

Call: Ext. 1660

Lynn Maitais PhotoLynn Maltais

Associate Professor of Nursing - ADN, Health Sciences

Email: maltaisl@cf.edu

Call: Ext. 1611

Main links
User links